It just keeps rolling along

I was lucky to be alive with Elvis, the rolling stones, Bob Dylan. Even when I was young; I wanted soul. One night I was watching “showboat”, a big black man against a beautiful moon, sings “Old Man River”. I was young, I was so moved, I cried. the line; “it just keeps rollin along” is the most powerful civil rights songs ever written. I know every word of that song. Paul Rrobeson was an angry man. He was ahead of his time by decades. His despair drove him to a sad life, bad marriages, a blacklist. His music was magic, it helped me (and still does) imagine the pain of working all day wile the white boys play. Getting no rest till judgment day. You, you and me some times we have to sweat , sweat and strain our bodies are achin” in pain. Tote that barge, lift that bale, get a little drunk and you winds in jail” I don”t need to look up the words; when my life has felt as if I have elephant on top of me, and I have moved my last inch; I think of that song; that magical man; that great man; and I move on. Music should  not just touch your soul; it should move in.

Where words fail, music speaks.

-Hans Christian Anderson

One thought on “It just keeps rolling along

  1. Pingback: It just keeps rolling along | mikefitzjohn

Leave a Reply

